After winning in both, local and Provincial competitions, Claudia Christen successfully represented PBL at NSTA’s International School Bus Safety Competition. The competition took place in High Point, North Carolina, July 16 and 17.

Local Results:
Conventional Bus:
Kelly Frere 1st place
Carolyn Horman 2nd place
Danette Smithson 3rd place
Rookie Drivers were Kelly Olson and Sandy Schedloslky

Small Bus:
Claudia Christen 1st Place
Shawna Nichols 2nd Place

Provincial Results:
Conventional Bus: Kelly Frere 4th place
Small Bus: Claudia Christen 1st Place

The National School Transportation Association (NSTA) hosted the 46 Annual School Bus Driver International Safety Competition on July 17, 2016, at Thomas Built Buses, Inc. in High Point, North Carolina. This event was held in conjunction with NSTA’s 52nd Annual Meeting & Convention, which begins today. The three-day meeting affords members the opportunity to network with their colleagues and hear presentations on issues of most importance to the industry.

This competition offers school bus drivers from across the United States and Canada the opportunity to showcase their knowledge and skills, allowing them to compete for the international title. In order to be eligible, a driver must have competed in a state or provincial competition in the school bus class they are entering in the International Competition and that competition must have been held during the last year. The driver with the highest score in each school bus class for a public sector carrier and the driver with the highest score in each school bus class for a private sector carrier are eligible to compete in the International Competition.

The contestants began the competition on Saturday, July 16 with a written exam testing their understanding of the rules of the road. Then the drivers got behind the wheel of a school bus and completed a road course on Sunday, July 17. Drivers competed in one of three categories: conventional, small bus, or transit.

NSTA is pleased to announce the following winners, which were acknowledged on Sunday, July 17 at NSTA’s Dinner and Awards Ceremony, sponsored by IC Bus. Banquet festivities were held at the Grandover Resort and Conference Center.

Small Bus
First Place – Virginia Smythe, Greater Albany Public Schools, Oregon
Second Place – Geoffrey Roan, Educational Bus Transportation, New York
Third Place – Gloria Flor, Crosby-Ironton Transportation, Inc., Minnesota
Honorable Mention – Claudia Christen, Prairie Bus Lines, Alberta, Canada

Conventional Bus
First Place – Kristina Raley, Vidor ISD, Texas
Second Place – Michelle Derryberry, Marrysville Joint USD, California
Third Place – Larry Hannon Sr., Centennial School District, Pennsylvania
Honorable Mention – John Labus, Cabell County Schools, West Virginia

“This great event showcases excellence in school bus knowledge, maneuvering, and skill. School
Bus transportation is the safest mode of transportation available and these elite drivers are truly
the best of the best. We congratulate all of the competitors in this international competition as
well as the winners in each vehicle category.” offered NSTA President Todd Monteferrario